Quantum Criticality: Gauge Fields and Matter

Emilie Huffman (Perimeter Institute), Ribhu Kaul (University of Kentucky), Roger Melko (Perimeter Institute & University of Waterloo), Shailesh Chandrasekharan (Duke University)

Ever more efficient numerical methods, such as quantum Monte Carlo sampling of an expanded classes of known sign-problem-free models and tensor network methods have enabled unbiased studies of a number of exotic phases and continuous phase transitions, such as those involving topological phases and emergent gauge fields. The phenomena of interest often arise in simple looking "designer" models, which have appeal to a wide variety of theorists, including those who study condensed matter, high energy physics, and quantum information. The common thread is that these models can be viewed as interesting models of materials, as regularizations of strongly coupled quantum field theories or as playgrounds to study highly entangled quantum systems. This interdisciplinary workshop aims to bring together researchers with the goal of facilitating an exchange of ideas for understanding these models using diverse numerical methods and from the field theoretic point of view.

Perimeter Institute will make every effort to host this workshop as an in-person event.  However, we reserve the right to change to an online program to align with changes in regulations due to the COVID-19 pandemic

Territorial Land Acknowledgement

Perimeter Institute acknowledges that it is situated on the traditional territory of the Anishinaabe, Haudenosaunee, and Neutral peoples.

Perimeter Institute is located on the Haldimand Tract. After the American Revolution, the tract was granted by the British to the Six Nations of the Grand River and the Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation as compensation for their role in the war and for the loss of their traditional lands in upstate New York. Of the 950,000 acres granted to the Haudenosaunee, less than 5 percent remains Six Nations land. Only 6,100 acres remain Mississaugas of the Credit land.

We thank the Anishinaabe, Haudenosaunee, and Neutral peoples for hosting us on their land.

  • Aaron Szasz
  • Alev Orfi
  • Alexander Hickey
  • Amirreza Negari
  • Anders Sandvik
  • Andrew Hardy
  • Anna Barbolini
  • Atri Dutta
  • Bo Li
  • Caesnan Leditto
  • Cenke Xu
  • Chengkang Zhou
  • Chong Wang
  • Christof Gattringer
  • Chuan Chen
  • Daniel Lozano Gomez
  • David Moser
  • Ding Jia
  • Ejaaz Merali
  • Emilie Huffman
  • Estelle Inack
  • Fakher Assaad
  • Fei Yan
  • Francisco Zuniga
  • Ganapathy Baskaran
  • Han Ma
  • Hui Yang
  • Igor Herbut
  • Itamar Aharony
  • Johann Ostmeyer
  • Johannes Hofmann
  • John Sous
  • Jong Yeon Lee
  • Jude Worthy
  • Julia Wei
  • Jun Takahashi
  • Kareem Hassaan
  • Krishna Prahlaadh Ramachandran
  • Kristian Chung
  • Liujun Zou
  • liuyun dao
  • Long-Hin Tang
  • Lucy Low
  • Lukas Janssen
  • Manuel Weber
  • Matthew Duschenes
  • Matthew Yu
  • Megan Schuyler Moss
  • Michael Mandl
  • Michael Scherer
  • Naichao Hu
  • Naman Gupta
  • Nandagopal Manoj
  • Nandini Trivedi
  • Nicole Yunger Halpern
  • Prabin Parajuli
  • Rajamani Narayanan
  • Rakesh Dora
  • Ribhu Kaul
  • Roger Melko
  • Rokas Veitas
  • Ruozhen Gong
  • Sagar Kumar Maity
  • Sayonee Ray
  • Senthil Todadri
  • Shailesh Chandrasekharan
  • Shayan Majidy
  • Shouvik Sur
  • Simon Catterall
  • Simon Hands
  • Soumya Sur
  • Stefanie Czischek
  • Sylvie Paycha
  • Thomas Scaffidi
  • Thomas Sheerin
  • Timothy Hsieh
  • Tsung-Cheng Peter Lu
  • Urban Seifert
  • Vamika Longia
  • Wenan Guo
  • William Jin
  • Xiaoxue Ran
  • xu feng
  • Xuejia Yu
  • Xuzhe Ying
  • Yahui Zhang
  • Yin-Chen He
  • Ze-Hui Deng
  • Zheng Zhou
  • Zhenjiu Wang
  • Zhi Li
  • Zhiming Pan
  • Zihong Liu
Stephanie Mohl