Cold Atom Molecule Interactions (CATMIN)

Theatre (Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics)


Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics

James Shaffer (Quantum Valley Ideas Laboratories), Luis Marcassa (University of Sao Paulo), Rosario Gonzalez-Ferez (University of Granada)

In the first edition of the meeting, CATMIN (Cold ATom Molecule INteractions) was a new satellite meeting of ICPEAC devoted to the study of atomic and molecular systems, where long-range interactions and the extreme properties of highly excited electrons produce new physics and lead to new technologies. CATMIN's objective is to strengthen the links between cold atom physics, molecular physics, chemistry and condensed matter physics, so that new concepts and breakthroughs can emerge. Ions, atoms and molecules are naturally made quantum systems that can be controlled with light and low frequency electromagnetic fields, thus lending themselves to precision investigations and use in quantum technologies. The second CATMIN conference will be held a few days before the ICAP, which is a major conference in AMO physics, with the idea that scientists can attend both meetings. The CATMIN meeting will be a two-day conference held at the Perimeter Institute in Waterloo, ON, centered on Rydberg-atom physics, cold ion physics and the interplay between these experimental platforms. Rydberg atom physics is experiencing a renaissance due to the application of the exaggerated properties of highly excited atoms for quantum information and quantum simulation. Rydberg states can even be observed in solids which is a subject of increasing interest. Cold ions, similarly, are exciting for quantum simulation and computing, becoming one of the central platforms in the race to build a quantum computer. Many exciting developments are also in progress in the area of cold-molecules. Long-range interactions open up fields of research such as the photo-association of cold atoms to form ultra-cold molecules, and the excitation of Rydberg molecules demonstrating novel kinds of molecular bonding. Strong long-range interactions in all the systems permit the investigation of the few-body and many-body regimes, including the few- to many-body transition. The conference aims to share the latest developments and results in these exciting fields among the various ICAP communities as well as the broader physics and chemistry communities. Overall, the conference can forward quantum science and the application of quantum science, which furthers these fields of research by concentrating interest to attract people and resources to the field.

Sponsorship for this event has been provided by:

Perimeter Institute will make every effort to host the conference as an in-person event.  However, we reserve the right to change to an online program to align with changes in regulations due to the COVID-19 pandemic.


Territorial Land Acknowledgement

Perimeter Institute acknowledges that it is situated on the traditional territory of the Anishinaabe, Haudenosaunee, and Neutral peoples.

Perimeter Institute is located on the Haldimand Tract. After the American Revolution, the tract was granted by the British to the Six Nations of the Grand River and the Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation as compensation for their role in the war and for the loss of their traditional lands in upstate New York. Of the 950,000 acres granted to the Haudenosaunee, less than 5 percent remains Six Nations land. Only 6,100 acres remain Mississaugas of the Credit land. 

We thank the Anishinaabe, Haudenosaunee, and Neutral peoples for hosting us on their land.

  • Aidin Taeb
  • Ajay sharma
  • Alan Jamison
  • Alexandre Cooper-Roy
  • Alexey Vylegzhanin
  • Amina Tanimu
  • Anastasiia Mashko
  • Andrew Muhakeya
  • Anmol Gauniyal
  • Apoorv Tripathi
  • Artem Zhutov
  • Ashley Becker
  • Ashok Mohapatra
  • Bala Ganesh
  • Boyan Tabakov
  • Brian Withnell
  • Bubai Rahaman
  • Chang Liu
  • Cheng-Ju Lin
  • Chris Inrig
  • Chris Wernik
  • Claudia Cornella
  • Daniel Barredo
  • Daniel Reiche
  • Darren Zeming Chan
  • David Jacobs
  • David Mellado-Alcedo
  • David meyer
  • Deepak Aditya Suresh
  • Donald Booth
  • Donatella Ciampini
  • Ennio Arimondo
  • ferial khiavi
  • Florian Christaller
  • Francis Robicheaux
  • Gaoren Wang
  • Gaurav Gupta
  • Geoff Gillett
  • Guido Pupillo
  • Hannes Busche
  • Harald Kübler
  • Himanshu Wadhwa
  • Hossein Sadeghpour
  • Hugo Terças
  • James Shaffer
  • Jeet Shah
  • Jhih-Shih You
  • Jiaxiang Wang
  • Johannes Deiglmayr
  • Jonathan Kwolek
  • Jorge Douglas Massayuki Kondo
  • Jorge Kondo
  • Joshua Hill
  • Jothika Ramasamy
  • junwu huang
  • K R Arjun
  • Katelyn Dixon
  • Kent Ueno
  • Kunpeng Wang
  • Luis Marcassa
  • Luna Liu
  • Mangesh Bhattarai
  • Manuel Alejandro Lefran Torres
  • Marcel Cech
  • Marios Galanis
  • Mark Saffman
  • Matteo Magoni
  • Matthew Eiles
  • Matthew Rayment
  • Mikhail Lukin
  • Mohammad Noaman
  • Mohammadsadegh Khazali
  • Mojtaba Hajialamdari
  • Muhammad Ibraheem
  • Naman Jamwal
  • Naomy Duarte Gomes
  • Neal Solmeyer
  • Nick Werstiuk
  • Nizar Messaoudi
  • Parth Padia
  • Patrick Cheinet
  • Pierre Laygue
  • Pierre Pillet
  • Pinrui Shen
  • Punit Punit
  • Rahul Gupta
  • Rajeev Singh
  • Raphaël Hahn
  • Rosario Gonzalez-Ferez
  • Sagar Singh
  • Sahil Bansal
  • Sebastian Wuester
  • Seth Meiselman
  • Seth Rittenhouse
  • Sifiso Nkambule
  • Sourav Dutta
  • Sri Datta Vikas Buchemmavari
  • Stephanie Bohaichuk
  • Stephen Hogan
  • Sudharsan Balasubramanian
  • Sumit Sharma
  • Sven Jandura
  • Thomas Killian
  • Tilman Pfau
  • Tim Hsieh
  • Tito Mendonca
  • Vanshaj Bindal
  • Victor Avalos
  • Vijin Venu
  • Weibin Li
  • Wenjun Kuang
  • Yi Wang
  • Yong-Guang Zheng
Stephanie Mohl